Artist Conversation #6


Artist: Dulce Doledad Ibarra

Exhibition: Recuerdos 

Gallery: Max L. Gatov Gallery West

Media: found objects 
Dulce is a bfa sculpture major. Recuerdos was her senior solo exhibition. I really enjoyed this exhibition because the moment I walked in it felt like a reminder of my childhood. It was a room within a room, what looked almost like a bed frame with draws and tables full of dolls, pictures, and knick-knacks. It wasn’t just a few dolls and knick-knacks but so many. It made me think what if I kept every doll and toy I ever had. I also noticed many souvenirs you can get from parties such as baptisms, communions, and quienceneras. When reading Dulce’s letter of her exhibition I learned that these weren’t her dolls and souvenirs. They were her late aunts. She passed away but left many of her collections. It had me think of things I have, what i found valuable or memorable if others would see it too or throw it away. It was also interesting to learn that Dulce’s late aunt use to call her, her cosita, meaning her little thing. Which is basically what her exhibition was about little things, little memories. Dulce wishes after graduation to go to grad school, and continue her practice with art. Originally from Chino, she first went to a community college in Rancho, and at the age of 24 she transferred to CSULB because of their great art program. Her hobbies are not only art but also karaoke and reading. 

Leave a Reply

